How to Remove MDM Profile from iPhone/iPad?

Apple’s MDM Profile is the means to share data and settings to iPhone or iPad. This allows the organizations or administrators to push email, security settings, apps, app settings, and even content through devices. It means someone else has control over the iDevice and can remotely manage it.

But what if you have left the institution? Of course, you will have to remove the MDM Profile from the iPad or iPhone to regain access to the iDevice. Learn how to remove MDM from iPad or iPhone with or without a password.

What is MDM and MDM Profile on iPhone/ iPad?

MDM, otherwise known as Mobile Device Management, lets administrators (like IT teams or school officials) configure iDevices remotely and securely.

MDM Profiles are built on existing operating systems, allowing organizations to update security settings, push emails, and edit app settings. This is done to monitor compliance with corporate or institutional policies.

Put simply, MDM Profile on iPhone, iPad, macOS, and even tvOS allows authorities to have remote access over your iDevice. So much so that they can even wipe or lock the iDevice remotely.

Why Do I Need to Remove MDM Profile from iPhone/iPad?

As mentioned, MDM Profiles allow the person in charge to manage the iDevice remotely.

The restrictions vary — depending on the administrator, but usually, you cannot install any apps on the iDevice. Importantly, they have access to your iDevice remotely. This means they can lock and wipe the data from the iDevice anytime they want.

So, in order to take full control of the iDevice, you will have to remove the MDM Profile from the iPhone or iPad.

How to Remove MDM Profile from iPhone Settings?

You can easily remove MDM from iPad or iPhone via the Settings menu. However, this method works only if you have the passcode (if there is a preset passcode). Or, in case there is no preset passcode, you can easily follow these simple steps and remove MDM profile from iPad or iPhone:

Step 1. Open the Settings on your iPhone or iPad. Scroll down. And select the General section from the left menu options.

Step 2. Scroll beyond the fold and select Device Management.

Step 3. Click on {Name} MDM Profile.

Step 4. Click on Remove Management.

Remove MDM profile option on iPhone

Note: If there is a preset passcode, you will have to enter it. If you do not know the passcode, skip to the next section.

How to Remove MDM Profile from iPhone without Password?

Sometimes the organizations forget to share the credentials to remove the MDM Profile from iPad or iPhones.

And, if for this or some other reason, you do not have the credentials to remove the MDM Profile from iPad or iPhone via the Settings menu, use a third-party tool.

There are numerous tools out there, but the one that shines the most amidst the multitude is Tenorshare’s 4uKey Unlocker. 

Compatible with the newer models iOS/iPad 15.5, iPhone 13, iPhone SE3, iPad Air5, and more, as well as the older models, Tenorshare 4uKey will be applicable to all of you.

Here’s how to remove MDM from iPhone or iPad using Tenorshare 4uKey:

Step 1. Download and install Tenorshare 4uKey on your Mac or Windows device. From the main interface, choose the Bypass MDM recovery mode.

tenorshare 4ukey interface with bypass MDM option

Step 2. Connect the iPhone or iPad to the Mac or Windows computer using the lightning or USB cable. You may have to authenticate the connection by clicking on Trust This Computer on your iPhone or iPad screen.

connect iDevice to the 4ukey program

Step 3. Once you successfully connect the iDevice to the computer, click on Start.

  • The MDM Profile bypassing process will start with a progress bar displaying the expected time.
  • Simply wait for the process to get completed. You will receive a Success message once the MDM Profile bypassing process is completed.
click Start in 4ukey

Note: ensure to follow on-screen instructions once the MDM Profile is removed from the iPhone or iPad.

  • For context, the backup password changes to ‘a’ automatically. Use ‘a’ to store the backup file.
  • Ensure not to choose ‘Restore from iCloud Backup’ when the device is on the ‘Apps and Data’ screen.

FAQs

1. Does Jailbreak Remove MDM?

Yes.

However, it is not to jailbreak your iPhone or iPad if you do not know what you are doing. You cannot visit Apple Repair, as the warranty rids after a jailbreak. Moreover, Apple denies service to jailbroken iDevices.

Plus, jailbreaking the iPhone or iPad can lead to immediate software failure. Additionally, there are several security issues, as you will not be able to update the iOS version.

2. Is the MDM Profile Safe to Keep on an iPhone?

MDM capabilities are built on existing operating systems. Generally, organizations set up MDM to monitor compliance with corporate policies.

For context, the IT team can remotely access your device.

Safe, not so! MDM Profiles allow the person in control to wipe or lock the device remotely.

So, if you do not want to encounter such situations, it is best to remove the MDM profile from the iPhone or iPad.

3. What is the difference between MDM configuration profiles and MDM remote management?

MDM Configuration Profiles define settings for using iDevices within the organization or institutional networks. Usually, the organization sends you a link. Clicking the link, the configuration profile will be enabled. The Configuration Profiles allow the organizations to restrict or limit Wi-Fi, VPN, email, calendar, and even passcode settings.

Mobile Device Management Profile, on the other hand, acts in the same way; however, administrators can manage the data and settings on iPhone or iPad remotely.

4. How do I factory reset my iPhone using MDM?

Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

Final Thoughts,

MDM Profile is easy for organizations to share data and settings to ensure compliance with corporate policies.

However, when you leave the organization, you will have to remove MDM from iPad or iPhone to regain full access to the iDevice. And this guide shows you how to do it with or without a password.

Hopefully, your MDM from your iPhone or iPad is now removed.

Leave a Comment